About Us


Published Sunday, October 19, 2008

The staff of The Site of Big Shoulders has changed over the course of the publication's history, with a core group present and active since the first planning meetings in the summer of 1995. These core staff members – as well as many others involved in The Site of Big Shoulders – are Northwestern University alumni who remained in the Chicago area after graduating in the early 1990s.

All staff members participate in The Site of Big Shoulders on a volunteer basis, donating time and resources in a labor of love for the arts, publishing and the Chicago creative community. To see a directory of active staff members and their contact information, visit our Staff Directory.

The Site of Big Shoulders staff includes:

Justin Kerr, Executive Director and Publisher
Justin Kerr is one of the founders of The Site of Big Shoulders and has served as its chief since its inception. Originally from Omaha, Nebraska, Justin is a 1993 graduate of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University and currently works as the president of Prototaph Interactive, a Chicago-based integrated marketing and media firm.

Jake Eldridge, Secretary/Treasurer and Chief Operations Officer
Jake Eldridge also founded The Site of Big Shoulders and has been an instrumental part of its ongoing operations and expansion. He is a 1993 graduate of Northwestern University and currently heads Think Development Group, a technology consultancy located in Chicago.

David Heidt, Board Member

Virginia, Production Editor

Robert Kameczura, Art and Classical Music Critic

Dana Peters, Illustrator

Chris Brandely, Board Advisor

Bruce Hollett, Board Advisor

Byron Uytiepo, Board Advisor

The Site of Big Shoulders is grateful to the following individuals who have served in the past as staff members for The Site of Big Shoulders:

Anne Alt, Carolyn Alterio, Jodi Behrens, Betsy Bevelacque, Erin Brauer, Mike Browarski, Ron Carerra, Sandra Castro, Deborah Cottington, Yvette Marie Dostatni, Cathy Haibach, Amy Hahn, Doo Kim, Esteban Montes, Brian Nemtusak, Melinda Roenisch, Erin Sandberg, Malcolm Taylor, Matt Wade, Cara Warfield